Films That Make You Think (or atleast made me think)

There’s a few films I’ve watched in my time that have given out different messages in my opinion, and really made me think about different things. So I thought I’d share with you some of the films that I find thought provoking. I will also include where you can buy them and for how much; I use Amazon a lot and usually with DVDs, Books and some CDs I buy them from there second hand as they are a lot cheaper, so win each film mentioned I’ll include the lowest best quality second hand price from Amazon I’ve found incase you wish to buy them and check them out yourself. 

Pay It Forward (2002)

Amazon Second Hand Β£1.27

Starring Haley Joel Osment, Kevin Spacey, Helen Hunt and Jon Bon Jovi.

This film is one of my favourites. It’s about a 12 year old boy who has an alcoholic mum and an abusive but absent dad who is given a fantastic school assignment of ‘think of something to change the world and put it into action’. Now this kid comes up with the brilliant idea of pay it forward- repaying good deeds by doing a good deed for three other people who then each help three more people and so on and so on in an attempt to make the world a better place. This film not only made me think about how great paying it forward is as an idea, but it also shows that even a child can make a difference if given chance, and that we should show more belief in people with their ideas and dreams, as they may just be able to make a positive difference to someone else’s life no matter what their background is or how old they are. 


πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

The Butterfly Effect (2004)

Amazon second hand Β£1.27

Starring Ashton Kutcher, Amy Smart and Elden Henson

This film is my favourite Ashton Kutcher film he’s been in, I think he does well at playing a serious role. His character as a child suffered from bad black outs during specific events in his life, so from age 7 he kept journals on what had happened. His black outs became less frequent until as an adult he finds his journals and reads them which sends him back to the specific event for him to change what happened. This film is based on the chaos theory which is basically giving the message that everything we say or do has a consequence, and the choices we make now will effect the direction in which our life goes in the future. So I guess the film kind of makes you think about the phrase “think before you speak/act” for the knock on effect it may have.

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Finding Neverland (2004)

Amazon second hand Β£2.69

Starring Johnny Depp, Kate Winslet, Freddie Highmore and Dustin Hoffman.

Just want to take a moment to appreciate how bloody brilliant Johnny Depp’s accent is in this film! Finding Neverland is the story of how J.M.Barrie came up with the idea of Peter Pan. It is a beautifully heartbreaking film that will have you clapping like mad shouting “I believe in fairies!”. This film for me simply shows that everyone needs a touch of magic, imagination and creativity in their life no matter how young or old you are. The spirit of magic in life is so important in my opinion, as it allows you to have a bit of hope and keeps your inner child alive while keeping that little sparkle in your eye alight. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Labyrinth (1986)

Amazon second hand Β£1.78

Starring David Bowie and Jennifer Connelly

Now I couldn’t write about films without including my number one all time favourite could I? I don’t just love this film because it has David Bowie in it (wearing very tight trousers!) I also love it for its simple message it gives. Be careful what you wish for, and to not take anything for granted as the things you love can be taken away so easily, and it’s not always easy to get them back. This film also tells you to open your eyes and look properly at situations for a solution rather than giving up so easily when quite often the answer has been infront of you the whole time. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Beauty And The Beast (1991)

Amazon second hand Β£7.60

This Disney film has always been a much loved film of mine from a young age even up to now it still makes me cry. To me this film has the simple message of don’t judge a book by its cover; from the beginning where Prince Adam refuses a rose from a haggard old woman, to when he is a beast who is lonely, bitter, yet desperate to be loved by Belle. Even though Beast looks scary and intimidating, Belle sees past that and sees that he has a heart so she stays to help him and ultimately falls in love with him even though he looks fearsome. This film teaches us to be more accepting of others no matter how they look. An important lesson I think more people in this world need to learn. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

August Rush (2007)

Amazon second hand Β£1.27

Starring Robin Williams, Jonathon Rhys Meyers, Freddie Highmore and Keri Russell.

Now as much as I like this film, I think it ended kind of prematurely I felt like they could of added on more to the story. This film gives the message that music is so important for our souls and is extremely powerful as well as saying don’t give up and to not stop believing. Robin Williams plays a kind of Fagan (Oliver Twist character) like character, which to me is strange yet interesting to watch as I’m used to seeing him play the good guy or the funny guy in films, whereas his character in this film turns out to be a bit of a money grabbing self centred cockwomble! 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Patch Adams (1998)

Amazon second hand Β£1.63

Based on a true story, starring Robin Williams,Philip Seymour Hoffman, Bob Gunton and Michael Jeter.

Another great Robin Williams film (though thinking about it, aren’t all his films great?!) This film to me shows that you don’t have to take yourself so seriously in order to do well and be a decent person, and to treat everyone as a person and not a number. I think that more people in a care profession need to be like Patch when caring for others as he shows compassion, love and concern for every person he meets. Laughter is the best medicine, and I’ve always been a believer in that (I know it doesn’t cure you, but it allows you to feel happiness even for a moment when you’re at your most frightened) Patch took the time to get to know individuals for who they are rather than knowing them just for their illness, which in turn helped the patients feel more comfortable and respected whilst in hospital. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”· 

There are other films that are thought provoking to me, but I’ll save them for another time. I hope you all enjoyed this post, I’d be interested to know your opinions on any of the films I mentioned if you have seen them πŸ™‚ I recommend all of them they’re all worth watching.

πŸ”Ήimmeamy, you’re you, and that’s the best way to be πŸ”Ή

Leave a Reply

