Mums the word

Recently on facebook, Giovanna Fletcher had announced the release of her new book Happy Mum Happy Baby (which I seriously want to get!) And the celebrate the release she asked for people to send her videos of them finishing three sentences about their experience of being a mum. Because I’m an idiot that totally forgot to send her a video, I thought I’d do a blog post about it instead. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Being a mum means… eternal love; I can’t even begin to explain the level of love I feel for my daughter. As cliche as it sounds, my daughter is my absolute world and I’d do anything to keep her safe, happy and healthy. Now being a mum isn’t always sunshine and lollipops, anyone that says it is, is a liar. Kids are notorious for having the most almighty hissy fits/tantrums for the most ridiculous reasons, and the non stop pointless banshee impression in that moment can make your ears bleed! And not to mention the snot trails on your clothes when they finally decide to calm down! Kids are gross little creatures haha! From picking their nose and eating it, to having a MAJOR poop explosion that literally goes everywhere! But, it is all worth it and I wouldn’t change a thing- it’s all part of the motherhood journey! 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Since having children I… have found myself and become stronger. I no longer allow anyone to walk over me or hurt me like I used to before I had my daughter, and I look after myself a lot better now (I rarely drink alcohol and if I do it’s 1 or 2 drinks twice a year if that, I eat better than I used to, and I always get out of bed to face the day every day instead of wallowing in misery like I’ve done in the past) I have found happiness since being a mum- I feel I have a purpose in life now and I can now say I love my life all thanks to my daughter. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

I’m happy when… my daughter is happy. Waking up to her beautiful bright eyes and beaming smile every morning makes me realise just how lucky I really am. I love watching my daughter learn and play and just become her own little person with a brilliant personality and fantastic sense of humor. Seeing her grow can make me feel sad that time is going so quickly, but it also makes me feel so proud not only of my daughter, but of myself too for raising such an amazing little girl who is clever, polite, happy, friendly, funny and healthy. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”· 

I am proud to be a mum, and I wouldn’t change it for the world. Some people say that having a child at my age (I was 21 when I gave birth to her) ‘ends/ruins your life’, but my life only truly started when I became a mum. I’d much rather be cuddled up with my daughter watching Toy Story for the millionth time than be out clubbing every weekend- it’s called growing up and being a responsible parent.

πŸ”Ήimmeamy, you’re you, and that’s the best way to beπŸ”Ή

Leave a Reply

