Little rant alert…political correctness gone mad

Wasn’t sure whether to post about this,but thought I would as its something that has been bugging me for a while with various other stories on the news etc and there’s now been yet another story of ridiculous political correctness! So I apologise if this post is a bit too ranty for your liking, if you don’t like reading rants then stop here and come back for the next non-ranty post 😊 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Recently seen in the media that a clothing shop (I wanna say primark but I can’t remember if that’s right) has had to remove a T-shirt from their shelves because it’s ‘offensive’ and ‘racist’…this T-shirt has the words eeny meeny miney moe (I’ve probably spelt that wrong). 

Now, YEARS ago the rhyme was “eeny meeny miney moe, catch a n***er by the toe” apparently…I’ve always known it to be catch a tiger by the toe but whatever. But this T-shirt has those words as its a quote from a TV series, it has NOTHING to do with racism at all. If the T-shirt included the ‘N word’ then I’d understand why people could take offense to it…but it doesn’t!! 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

I think the world has got so bloody sensitive and rather pathetic with its ‘political correctness’…kids can’t even sing Bah Bah Black Sheep anymore because it’s seen as racist! (Do people not realise there are black coloured sheep and the rhyme has nothing to do with black coloured people?) It’s now Bah Bah RAINBOW sheep! There’s no such thing as rainbow sheep! 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

If someone is being racist to anyone then fine I can understand you being offended as its out of order to judge people or abuse people for their skin colour, but when it’s something that has nothing to do with the colour of anyone’s skin I think it’s ridiculous. And can I just add that racism isn’t just ‘white against black’, it’s ANY person of ANY skin colour against another person of ANY skin colour. People often seem to forget that. 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Political correctness has gone totally mad! Soon no one will be able to say anything incase it might offend someone! 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

Does this sorta thing annoy anyone else or am I just a grouch? Haha! Let me know your thoughts! 

Sorry for the rant, but being the only adult in my house I have no one to discuss this frustration with so I’m sorry but the blog gets it! πŸ˜‚ 

πŸ”·πŸ”·πŸ”·

πŸ”Ήimmeamy, you’re you, and that’s the best way to beπŸ”Ή

Leave a Reply

