My Phobias and Cringey Dislikes 

Everyone has a fear/phobia of at least one thing, or something they really don’t like that gives them shivers. I for one, have quite a few! I think being a naturally anxious worrier doesn’t help! So I thought I’d share some of mine with you to see if anyone else has the same at all. 

🔷🔷🔷

The first is probably the most ‘normal’ fear I have which is Arachnophobia (fear of spiders) I will not stay in a room with any size spider it has to be removed. Though I’m not as scared of tarantulas as they move slower than house spiders. I don’t really like any creepy crawlies to be honest!

🔷🔷🔷

Ornithophobia is another fear of mine, which is a fear of birds- the main bird I’m scared of is Pigeons! I hate them being anywhere near me, I’m fine with other birds as long as they don’t flap near me. 

🔷🔷🔷

Thanatophobia is the fear of death or loved ones dying- this for me has got worse since becoming a mum as obviously I don’t want to lose my daughter or leave her without a mum. I get quite upset and worried about it if I think about it too much. 

🔷🔷🔷

The phobia of mine that surprises people the most because I’m heavily tattooed, is my dislike of medical needles. I get quite anxious about blood tests as my veins are rubbish and it takes a few attempts to find one good enough. Staying on the medical fears, I am terrified of being put to sleep incase I don’t wake up again. 

🔷🔷🔷

I can’t swim at all, and I hate water in my face- I’m fine with baths and swimming pools I can stand up easily in, but I am scared of deep water (Bathophobia) 

🔷🔷🔷

Since becoming a mum, for some reason I have a fear of the dark which is known as Nyctophobia. In my upstairs hallway, I have a night light plugged in so that I don’t open my door into darkness. 

🔷🔷🔷

I feel really uncomfortable if my front door is unlocked, and if curtains are open when it’s dark outside- I end up convincing myself that someone is outside watching me through the window. 

🔷🔷🔷

The final three fears on my list aren’t overly common I don’t think. The first is a fear of not being able to touch my face- so I can easily be in a small space, but I couldn’t have my arms restricted I need to be able to touch my face. The second is Spec trip hobo a which is a fear of mirrors- I can look in a mirror do my makeup but I can’t must stand infront of a mirror for no reason or be in a room where there’s a mirror in my view but not my reflection (if that makes any sense at all!) The third is a fear of hair salons. A few years ago I passed out in a salon while getting my hair done and got taken to hospital in an ambulance because my blood pressure was dangerously low. I haven’t been in a salon since. 

🔷🔷🔷

There are a few things that make me panic/cringe: low flying aircraft of any sort really sets off my anxiety and makes me panic; the second is the sound or feel of scratching paper/card; nail files really freak me out, I squirm just picking one up and have to literally be pinned down to have my nails filed; and lastly, the word ‘moist’, even reading it gives me shivers and makes me gag!

🔷🔷🔷

I know for certain that I’ve missed some out, but this would be a ridiculously long post if I could remember them all off the top of my head!

🔷🔷🔷

Do you have any strange phobias or dislikes? Are any the same as mine? Let me know so I’m not the only scaredy cat round here!

🔹immeamy, you’re you, and that’s the best way to be🔹

Leave a Reply

